2015 SASI Awards

20 Nov 2015

Congratulations to all of the winners at the 25th addition of the SASI Awards dinner held at the Hilton Adelaide on 19 November 2015. The evening strongly featured Cycling who took out 4 of the major awards including Program of the Year and dual world champion Annette Edmondson winning the Female Athlete of the Year.

Athletics had an outstanding night with athletes Brayden Davidson, Athlete with a Disability of the Year, and Jared Tallent, Male Athlete of the Year, both winning awards. Not only did the well spoken Brayden beat a world class field of athletes for his award, he also taught us a thing or two about Greek and Roman mythology. Unfortunately Jared was unable to collect his award as he was in Canberra for a training camp while undertaking a nutrition study.

Swimmer Kyle Chalmers and his coach Shelly Jarrett also faired well picking up the Junior Male Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year awards respectively.

Another highlight from the evening was the insight gained into Rohan Dennis' rise from the SASI Talent ID program to becoming one of the premier road cyclists on the international stage.

Thank you to the 240 plus who attended the evening. The full list of winners are below.


Female Athlete of the Year                         Annette Edmondson (Cycling)

Male Athlete of the Year                              Jared Tallent (Athletics)

Athlete with a Disability                               Brayden Davidson (Athletics)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year            Danielle McKinnirey (Cycling)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year                 Kyle Chalmers (Swimming)

Program of the Year                                     Cycling

Coach of the Year                                         Shelly Jarrett (Swimming)

Service to SASI Sport Award                      Andy & Donna Scotson (Cycling)

Spirit Award                                                   Sian Barris

Amy Gillette-Safe Award                             Catherine McArthur (Canoe Sprint)


Canoe Sprint                      Catherine McArthur

Cycling                                Rohan Wight

Diving                                  Samantha Mills

Hockey                                Michaela Spano

Netball                                 Chelsea Lemke

Rowing                                Alexander Hill

Swimming                           Kyle Chalmers

Volleyball                            Maximillian Guehrer

Water Polo                         Chloe Barr