Budding young stars join SASI's cycling program

08 May 2018

HARD work, potential and rapid improvement have paid off for young cyclists Ella Sibley and Angus Miller who will join the SA Sports Institute's (SASI) scholarship program (2018-19) from June 1.

miller and sibley

Above: Angus Miller (far left) and Ella Sibley (far right)

The Under-17 duo, identified as athletes with potential through SASI's Talent ID program, also have been a part of SA's junior cycling development program.

SASI Head Coach Cycling Brett Aitken said the duo, both track endurance athletes, deserved their scholarships and had plenty to look forward to.

"They both have shown enough to give us an idea of their potential,'' Aitken said.

"Ella has had a rapid rise in the sport as has Angus whose rate of progression has been extreme.

''It is an ongoing process but exciting for them and for us to see their progress. The proof is in the pudding with our program.''

The athletes also have taken part in the Australian National Junior Track Cycling competition. In Melbourne Ella won bronze in the Individual Pursuit with a personal best, bronze in the 60-lap Points race and gold in the Scratch race.

The duo also ride for the South Coast Cycling Club and compete in the National Junior Road Series which will end for the season in Bunbury, between September 21 and 23. The Cycling Australia Junior Road National Championships will be held then which is expected to be the first big competition for Ella and Angus.

SASI also has finalised its 2018/19 scholarship program. Athletes on the program are:

Joshua Harrison; Danielle McKinnirey; Caitlin Ward: Lara Tucker; Jarrad Drizners; Sophie Edwards; Breanna Hargrave; Braden O'Shea; Maeve Plouffe; Cooper Sayers; Kael Thomas; Cooper Tye; Olivia Wheeler; Luke Wight; James Brister; Carlos Carisimo; Leigh Hoffman; Heather May; Brooklyn Vonderwall; Angus Miller and Ella Sibley.

Follow SASI online

Facebook @SASInews

Twitter @SASI_sport

Instagram @sa_sports_institute