SASI stars join hockey's elite junior squads

SASI stars join hockey's elite junior squads

National hockey selectors have set the pathway again for rising stars by naming their junior men's and women's squads for 2019 - SASI providing five athletes

Shand playing hockey

BUDDING Hockeyroos and Kookaburras players have a big chance to show their potential and progress by winning selection into the national junior hockey squads for 2019/20.

Chosen mainly on potential and results at the recent under-21 national championhips, the squads consist of 27 players in each of the men' and women's squads.

SASI athletes Emma de Broughe, Amy Hammond, Hattie Shand, Lachlan Busiko and Fred Gray all won selection.

SASI's Tim White is the women's head coach, while Ben Bishop has control of the men's squad.

White said the selection of elite squads always brought excitement.

“The squads, which were selected after an exhaustive process at the recent under-21 nationals, forms a major part of Australia's high performance pathway,” White said.

“The purpose of the National Junior Program is to identify and broaden the talent base in Australia. It also serves to transition athletes into other squads, namely development and senior squads.

“I'm looking forward to playing a part in the development of these young athletes, together with the NTC coaches in each of the players’ home states.”

National under-21 men's champion New South Wales has seven players in the squad.

White and Bishop also praised the help provided by coaches and support staff from the National Institute Network and respective state associations which have played a key part in identifying and developing the players who were selected.

The 2019/2020 National Junior Program will consist of training camps, a combined NTC competition as well as international matches.

Follow SASI online

Facebook @SASInews

Twitter @SASI_sport

Instagram @sa_sports_institute